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public utilities commission of the state of colorado,
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assessing civil penalties

Mailed Date:  November 22, 1999

Appearances:

Gregory Sopkin, Assistant Attorney General, Denver, Colorado, for the Staff of the Commission; and

No appearance on behalf of the Respondent Smithey & Sons, Inc.

I. statement

A. This Proceeding was instituted by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (“CPAN”) No. 99-O-J-O1.  This CPAN was served on the Respondent Smithey & Sons, Inc. (“Smithey & Sons”), by certified mail.  By Order and Notice dated September 21, 1999, the matter was set for a hearing to be held on November 15, 1999 at 9:00 a.m. in a Commission hearing room in Denver, Colorado.  At the assigned place and time the undersigned called the matter for hearing.  Respondent did not appear.  After waiting approximately ten minutes the matter proceeded to hearing.

B. During the course of the hearing Exhibits 1 through 8 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of the hearing the matter was taken under advisement.

C. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the undersigned now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II. findings of fact

D. Smithey & Sons is a carrier authorized to transport commodities in interstate commerce via Interstate Commerce Com-mission under Certificate 309837.  It has been registered as an interstate carrier with this Commission since at least 1997 through the single state registration system (“SSRS”).  Under the SSRS a motor carrier such as Smithey & Sons registers in one state for numerous states that have reciprocal agreements.  For example, in 1997 Smithey & Sons originally registered in Colorado for a total of nine states, with four power units in each state.  It later added one vehicle in a tenth state.  See Exhibit 4.  In 1998 Smithey & Sons registered in Colorado for 20 states, indicating 6 power units operating in Colorado.  Smithey & Sons paid $30 or $5 per vehicle to Colorado as the annual vehicle identification fee in accordance with § 40-2-110.5(2)(a), C.R.S. 

E. SSRS registrations issued by this Commission are good on a calendar year basis.  At the beginning of 1999 Smithey & Sons did not register any vehicles for Colorado.  On April 11, 1999, a vehicle operated by Smithey & Sons was checked in Oklahoma.  The Oklahoma Corporation Commission seized fraudulent SSRS registration receipts from a Smithey & Sons driver.  These receipts are fraudulent in that they indicate a two-year registration, from January 1, 1998 through December 31, 1999.  See Exhibit 3.  Two days later, on April 13, 1999, Smithey & Sons amended its registration under the SSRS in Colorado by adding two vehicles for Colorado.  Smithey & Sons paid the annual identification fee for these two vehicles, effective April 13, 1999 through December 31, 1999.

F. For the calendar year 1999, Smithey & Sons has been operating six power units.  See Exhibit 6.  These power units have been operating into, from, within, and through the State of Colorado for hire.  This has been established by the Port of Entry clearance records.  See Exhibit 7.

discussion

G. Section 40-2-110.5(2)(a), C.R.S., provides in per-tinent part as follows:

Every motor vehicle carrier which has been registered with the Commission pursuant to § 40-10-120...shall pay an annual identification fee of $5 to the Com-mission for each motor vehicle which said carrier owns, controls, operates, or manages which is operated within the State of Colorado. ...

H. It is clear that the Respondent was operating vehicles prior to April 13, 1999 without having paid the annual vehicle identification fee.  However, after April 13, 1999, Smithey & Sons was operating two vehicles which were registered in the state and four that were not.  CPAN No. 99-O-J-O1 charges four violations before April 13, 1999.  As to these four charges there is no question that Smithey & Sons did not pay the annual vehicle identification fee.  However, after April 13, 1999, Smithey & Sons had two vehicles for which it had paid the annual fee.  Staff has charged four instances after April 13, 1999, and two of these could have been the vehicles for which the annual identification fee was paid.  Therefore two of the charges must be dismissed.  However, since Smithey & Sons has paid for only two, the other two charges remain and it is found that for the remaining two Smithey & Sons has also violated § 40-2-110.5(2)(a), C.R.S., by not paying an annual vehicle iden-tification fee.  Thus Smithey & Sons is found to have violated § 40-2-110.5(2)(a), C.R.S., on six occasions.

I. Concerning the appropriate penalty, § 40-7-113(1)(e), C.R.S., provides as follows:

Any person subject to § 40-2-110.5 who operates a motor vehicle carrier without having paid the annual identification fee for any motor vehicle so operated as required by § 40-2-110.5 may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $400.

There do not appear to be any factors in mitigation.  In aggravation it is noted that Smithey & Sons attempted to defraud the State of Colorado of annual fees by altering SSRS receipts.  Thus the maximum penalty of $400 per violation is warranted.  Smithey & Sons should be assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $2,400.

J. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recom-mended that the Commission enter the following order.

III. order

K. The Commission Orders That:

1. Smithey & Sons, Inc., Eaton, Colorado, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $2,400.  Smithey & Sons, Inc., shall pay the penalty within ten days of the effec-tive date of this Order.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4.
If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
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________________________________
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____________________

Bruce N. Smith

Director
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