Decision No. R99-787

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 99R-259E

in the matter of the proposed rules regarding amendments to the rules regulating the service of electric utilities, 4 ccr 723-3.

recommended decision of
administrative law judge
arthur g. staliwe

Mailed Date:  July 26, 1999

Appearances:

Paula M. Connelly, Esq., on behalf of Public Service Company of Colorado.

I. statement

A. By notice of proposed rulemaking issued May 24, 1999, the Commission set forth certain proposed amendments to the existing Rules Regulating Electric Utilities, all as more set forth in Decision No. C99-527.  Also on May 24, 1999, the Com-mission set the matter for hearing on July 20, 1999 and advised parties that they could file comments or attend the hearing.  Only Public Service Company of Colorado (“Public Service Com-pany”) appeared at the hearing and tendered written comments.

B. As pertinent to this docket, Public Service Company points out that it has a computer program designed to accom-modate the existing 40-day time period set forth in the existing rules, which period coincides with its natural gas billing, to determine those individuals who are delinquent in their pay-ments.  The proposed amendments found in 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (“CCR”) 723-3-13(c)(1) will increase the electricity bill minimum due date from 10 days to 15 days subsequent to the mailing or delivery of the bill, while Rule 4 CCR 723-3-13(c)(2) leaves the existing 30 days before discontinuance in place, for a total of 45 days.  As pointed out by Public Service Company, not only will this require reprogramming of its existing elec-tricity billing software, it may require an entirely new soft-ware program if different due dates are permitted for gas serv-ice.

C. Accordingly, Public Service Company first suggests that the Commission not change the existing ten-day minimum rule.  Alternatively, if for some reason the Commission feels compelled to alter the ten-day period, then Public Service Com-pany requests that the existing 30-day period be shortened to 25 days so as to allow Public Service Company to continue to use its already programmed 40-day period.

D. Investigation by this office subsequent to the hearing revealed that the reason for the proposed change from 10 days to 15 days before an electric utility bill will be considered past due is the problem that the period is too short in many cases to allow customers who receive their bills by mail to also pay within ten days; apparently it is the interpretation of this agency that while Public Service Company may mail bills to start the clock running, it is not sufficient that the customer mail his payment within that period to stop the clock.  Accordingly, staff suggests that the 10-day period be extended to 15 days before a customer can be considered delinquent in paying his electric bill.

E. It appears that the compromise suggested by Public Service Company, i.e., to shorten the subsequent 30-day period before discontinuance can be imposed to a 25-day period, while keeping the 15-day period for calculation of when payment is past due will accommodate both the interests of consumers as well as the interest of the utility in avoiding unnecessary reprogramming costs.  Further, the addition of five more days to the existing 40-day period before discontinuance can be effected will have an adverse impact on the cash working capital com-ponent of rate base, effectively increasing it by 12 1/2 per-cent, plus additional unpaid energy consumption during those additional five days.

order

F. The Commission Orders That:

1. Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-3-13(c)(2) is hereby amended to read as follows:

For non-payment of any sum due which is less than twenty-five (25) days past due; nor shall any notice of intent to discontinue service be sent with respect to any amount which is not twenty-five days past due.

2. Subject to the above, it is recommended that the Commission adopt the proposed amendments to the Rules Regulating the Service of Electric Utilities, 4 Code of Colorado Regula-tions 723-3 as set forth in this docket, a copy of which is attached hereto.

3. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

4. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or Stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

5. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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