Decision No. C03-1328

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T

RULES PRESCRIBING THE STANDARD PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING THE
COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND, 4 CCR 723-13-4.

COMMISSION ORDER WAIVING RULE 4 CCR 723-13-10
AND SETTING THE UNIFORM CHARGE FOR EACH
APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE AT TEN CENTS PER
MONTH TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME
TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Mailed Date: November 26, 2003
Adopted Date: November 26, 2003

. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) was
established by the Legislature in 1990. See 840-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S. In 1991, the
Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income

Telephone Assistance Fund. 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-13. Rule 3.1 provides:

Implementing tariffs shall consist of a twenty-five percent discount for a single
local dial tone line and the flat rate usage charge in the principal residence of an
eligible subscriber. Eligible subscribers who pay mileage charges associated with
basic telephone service may be eligible for a twenty-five percent discount for
these charges. In no event shall the discount provided be less than the end user
common line charges imposed by the Federal Communications Commission.

2. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-13-4 the Commission shall determine, and by
appropriate order, impose a uniform charge on each business and residential access line in a
uniform amount, such charge to be adjusted on or before July 1 of each year. After accounting

for the projected amounts in the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund (Fund) for
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the first two quarters of 2003, the Commission finds the LITAP Uniform Charge on each eligible
access line for fiscal year 2004 will need to be increased from eight cents to ten cents per month

per line.

3. Colorado allows participating telephone service providers to be reimbursed from
the LITAP fund for the Subscriber Line Charge (SLC) imposed by the Federal Communications
Commission or a 25 percent discount of the local service charge, whichever is greater.
Considering the current fund balance, revenue, and expenditure projections for Fiscal Year 2003-
2004, the Commission finds it necessary to increase the LITAP Uniform Charge on each eligible
access line beginning January 1, 2004. The increased SLC charge (now at $6.50 per month) and
the increase of the number of LITAP subscribers will both have an impact on the Fund and create
a shortfall at the current uniform charge. An increase of $.02 of the monthly per access line

charge is necessary in order to maintain a positive projected balance in the Fund.

4. Rule 4 CCR 723-13-4 indicates that it is the intent of the Commission to adjust
the uniform charge, if necessary, on or before July 1 of each year. Rule 4 CCR 723-13 allows the
Commission to permit variance from these rules for good cause. The information required to
make the appropriate determination about the fund balances was not available in time to adjust

the uniform charge prior to July 1, 2003.

1. ORDER
A. The Commission Orders That:
1. Pursuant to 8 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Commission’s Rules

Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund,

4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13-4, the Commission hereby establishes a uniform charge
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on each eligible access line for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund for the
Fiscal Year 2003-2004. The uniform charge shall be ten cents per month per line effective

January 1, 2004.

2. It may be unnecessary for basic local exchange telecommunications service
providers who have Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund Tariffs on file with the
Commission to file revised tariffs changing the uniform charge per access line per month.
However, if necessary, providers may file changes to their tariffs on not less than one day’s

notice, citing this Order as authority.

3. The Commission may enter subsequent orders should the estimates in the Table
entitled “Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund,” appended as Attachment A to this

Order, prove inaccurate.

4, The uniform charge of ten cents per month shall be included in each applicable
subscriber’s bill as part of the subscriber’s base rate. As soon as practicable after January 1,
2004, each basic local exchange telecommunications provider who has on file a tariff providing
for Low-Income Telephone Assistance, and is thus a part of the Colorado Low-Income
Telephone Assistance Fund, shall print on each customer’s bill a market informational note. The
market informational note should state: “The basic rate contains a ten -cent monthly charge for
the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund,” and should be contained on the bill during one

billing cycle.

5. The 20-day time-period provided for by 8§ 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an
application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing

of this Order.
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6. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
November 26, 2003

(SEAL) THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

GREGORY E. SOPKIN

POLLY PAGE

ATTEST: ATRUE COPY
JIM DYER

Commissioners

Bruce N. Smith
Director
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